Posted by: annmucc | November 27, 2008

The Office

In the office today we had a spring cleaning effort, even though it wasn’t spring :)

It seems that yesterday evening after I left, one of the girls there got bored of seeing the mess of an office we have, and decided to initiate a ‘clean up the office’ campaign – you must realise that most of the stuff there is of people who have moved on from the office, but have left the stuff behind them. Eg. My desk has 3 drawers, of which I can use none as all are overflowing, and from 5 shelves next to my desk, I can only use 1, all of them full of stuff from the 2 people who were sitting there before me. So you can imagine how things have been piling up!

So this morning I went into the office and found a SLIGHTLY tidier place (not much change could be done, unless the other people take away their own stuff you know! you’re not going to chuck it out). Luckily, I had tidied my desk slightly yesterday (rather than worked :P), and as I have been there only for a short while, I have not managed to collect SOOO much stuff :). Lucky for me

Other people were not so lucky. One guy as soon as he came in, was given a box of his stuff which had been placed under a desk for ages, and told to arrange it – the first deadline was by Christmas, while a girl who knew him better told him by the end of the day :P. It seems like the guy is not the biggest fan of cleaning OR deadlines. He started something (out of which I collected two new books on sustainable heritage, which he had and didn’t need!), but of course didn’t finish.

Anyways, the office has started to look SLIGHTLY more decent (though I bet you won’t realise it if you walk in now :P).

The second thing that happened in my office today is that my supervisor’s other PhD student today moved to the office. He is working in conjunction with a museum, so so far he had been located there. BUt now he needs to use the lab facilities at UCL, so he should have moved to the lab, but since they are repainting and refurbishing the lab right now, he moved to the office :).

First thing we did was to try and go and get the computer form the lab moved to the office…but hey! We don’t have a key to the lab…so why are we outside if we cannot go in? Hmm he said…OK…let me treat you to a juice :). And from there we crossed the street to Planet Organic, where I got a carrot juice…It was the first time I had it, and it was good (though maybe doesn’t deserve it’s price :P – everything in London is expensive!).

We returned to the office and got a key from a girl, and off we went to the lab, collected the computer, and made our way back to the office.

The great thing about having him here is that he has much more experience than I have, and he seems willing to help me out where i need advice, such as in ordering apparatus. SO it’s great to have him near :)

Responses

  1. I’ve seen the office and it looks like a real university office with books, computers and paper everywhere. If I came back today I probably wouldn’t be able to tell the difference :)

  2. @ MCA: Haha :P Well – the two desks near the entrance were cleared away (but one has already been occupied by the other student i talked about, and the other one has already had stuff fumped on it :P)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

