Posted by: annmucc | March 2, 2009

Maltese Interconnections

Malta is small, so, as expected, the same people pop up repeatedly in your life and from different directions. It cna lead to confusion when trying to explain how you know people, especially to foreigners, but in a way it allows you to connect again with people you knew before as they enter your life again often in an unexpected way.

One case in point is Joanne. Joanne used to go out with one of my cousins. I didn’t know her before, or in any other context, but I always got on well with her (or at least that’s what I think :P). Well, for some reason or other (no idea what, and wouldn’t tell you even if I knew :P) my cousin and her broke up. Since the break-up didn’t concern me directly (and I didn’t hear any wild stories, so i expected it to be a normal break-up that happens), I still said hi to her when I saw her around, and still liked her :).

Well…now she enters the picture again…

How?

Well…on New Years Eve she met Adrian, another Maltese guy doing his PhD at UCL. Nothing happened there, but it seems like something happened from there…they are now going out ;). Adrian visited her some weeks ago, and she came to visit him in London last weekend. I was not going to be in London over the weekend, since Michael was visiting ;) (more about that in the next post!), but since she arrived on Wed night, we could meet up on Thursday!

So that’s what we did…Adrian, Joanne and I met up…the plan was to meet up for coffee…That’s what we did! The three of us met up next to the main gate of UCL and off we went for our coffee. It was great to see her again, and in general just chat about anything and everything. I hadn’t seen Adrian either since last November I think! so it was good to catch up with him and his PhD as well (though we’ve kept in touch online).

On Thursday there was also my centre’s guest lecture…but didn’t get round to going to that, as we ended up talking…SHAAAAAME on me right? ;)

Responses

  1. I must say I love the advantages that come with being such a small country…
    if you see a large group of Junior College students this week, a couple of my friends are part of it, they’re on a school trip to London XD

  2. @ mina: yeah…it has its advantages and disadvantages, but the advantges certainly make it nicer to live there
    I will ask them if they know Mina if I come across them :P when Cec and mum were visiting, I met a group of uni science students at Primark!!!…most of them were ex-students of mine last year, and Cecilia’s students this year!!!

  3. that’s really funny…
    hmm yeah i don’t really know what they’re up to, just that they got there on sat and are missing a whole week of school….. haha

  4. @ Mina: pff – you didn’t come?

  5. I have subjects like PURE MATHS and PHYSICS while they have subjects like English…

  6. @ Mina: not sure they would appreciate the tone of that comment :P

  7. but they love me… :P
    haha no I think that some of them are very aware of my opinion


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

