Posted by: annmucc | May 15, 2009

Pisa: Dinner at OUR House

Wednesday we went for dinner at the Prof’s house; yesterday was then our turn to be hosts, as Sara had invited Gianluca and Marianna for dinner at our place.

I had a bit of work I needed to do at uni before being off home, so luckily Sara went shopping on her own (and to figure out what to get…no decisions for me to make! WOOHOO!). I arrived home before she did (since she had a couple of other errands she wanted to make), so I started a bit on cleaning the house and arranging things for the evening. When she arrived we started on preparing the things for the dinner.

First off was some Stracchino (cheese), together with some gallet (from Malta ;)), crispy bread, olives, crisps, pickled onions and what not. I was introduced to Stracchino by Sara and I must say I quite appreciate it ;). Marianna and Gianluca called to let us know they would be 30mins late, so we took the time to have a shower, and put the water for pasta on the cooker.

When they arrived, we immediately sat down to start on the ‘appetisers/antipasti/whatever’. MMM…delicious! Accompanied by good conversation, this was really appreciated :). Following this we had some pasta with tomato with ricotta sauce, followed by some salad (I made the mistake of not cutting the mozzarella how the Italians do…to Sara’s horror ;)…I cubed it…she wanted it sliced…after getting over the surprise (‘Porca Miseria!’) of what I had done, she soon laughed it off and cut her own mozzarella like mine ;).

By the time the salad was eaten (and practically everything was eaten!), it was time for dessert…The guys had brought an ice-cream strudel with them, which we were planning to eat…we open the packaging…hmmm! We need to cook this we realised! Oh well..>Sara had bought like a small cake, and we opened that one, and left the strudel for another time.

All this food, accompanied by some good wine, company and conversations…the night was soon over…A friend of the guys called to ask if they wanted to go out…but Sara and I were exhausted so we passed…we washed the plates, and off we went to bed :)

Another happy evening after a great day at work.

Yesterday I though that I had figured out a very good extraction method…today I realised that maybe not…let’s just say that today’s work was not the best ever ;)

Responses

  1. OH MY GOD! You CUBED Italian mozzarella? jeeez woman.. i thought i was uncultured :p

    xxx

    cu in a week :D

  2. What fun you are having…at home as well at as work. What more can a person ask for. I suppose that you follow the unwritten italian rules about food!!! Hehehe. I’ve shocked so many italians by the way I cook pasta, it’s become funny for me. At least I didn’t cube the mozzarella….and now, thanks to you….I know better. :-D

    Bev

  3. @ Marilyn: pfff! It was going into a salad…who cares how it is cut??

    @ Bev: Hehe…glad that the shock of my flatmate at me helps someone ;)

  4. Hi annmucc,
    This is an update about World Blog Surf Day–it’s now being hosted by Czech Off the Beaten Path.

    You can read more about this update here http://sheroffthebeatenpath.blogspot.com/2009/05/housekeeping-world-blog-surf-day.html, and here at http://sites.google.com/site/worldblogsurfday/Home

    Please let me know if you’re still interested in participating!

    Have a great day,
    Sher :0)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

