Posted by: annmucc | June 27, 2010

Watching the World Cup

Living in England (and coming from Malta), which are amongst the more enthusiastic countries for football, I cannot not be in at least some small way interested in the world cup going on right now.

As I wrote earlier, I have watched most of the games at home. I have however watched two outside with other people.

The first game I watched outside the house was the Slovenia-England game. This game was on during the tie I am usually at uni. However, considering that nearly everyone went off to watch it, I thought it could be a good team-building time :P. We went to a student union bar round the corner from the office, and enjoyed seeing England winning and getting through…or most of us enjoyed it, considering that one of the other PhD student in the group is Slovenian :P.

Then today there was the last-16 game against Germany. I had one of two options: watch it at home with our flatmate (who constantly talks to the tv when he’s watching England play!) or save my sanity and the possibility of prison for me, and go off to watch it somewhere else.

My choice fell on The Queensbury close by. When I arrived the only place to sit was on the floor, so that’s what I did! I really enjoyed the atmosphere, which even though England were losing, at no point felt threatening or in any way bad. There was quite a good atmosphere throughout. If I had to have one gripe though? £5.10 for a Pimm’s and lemonade? Not sure I will buy that again :)

Pimm's and Lemonade

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

