Posted by: annmucc | September 13, 2010

Happy Birthday…to Me!

Yesterday was my birthday – I turned the grand old age of 24. Unfortunately Michael could not be in London. But that did not mean that I didn’t enjoy it!

I had planned a lazy morning at home (i.e. I was too unenthusiastic to plan anything). However, after having woken up, my flatmate came in to say happy birthday and invite me out for the day with a friend of his – weee :). The plan? First off a trip to the cemetery. The cemetery you say? Yes! Why? Well, the cemetery is a bit overgrown and the cats love walking around in there. They are so cute! They plod plod plod about like a couple of puppies :).

After the cemetery jaunt I was then taken out to lunch. Lunch came a bit late (it took us quite a while to find the place :P), but when it came it was delicious! We went to a Toby carvery in Borehamwood. The food was good and being a buffet sort of thing your portions could be as big as you wanted (except for the meat). I also got a small jelly with a candle and they sung a happy birthday to me and I blew out the candle – ohhh! I felt like a kid again *grin*.

Back home I just about had time for a nap before making my way down to the Southbank. There I was meeting with Eva, another PhD student in the centre. Destination? Thames Festival Night Carnival. I enjoyed it, and so glad Eva kept on reminding me that I should do something on my birthday! Following the carnival we then met up with Matthew, a friend from Malta, and we watched the fireworks with him and his friends – was nice of London to organise fireworks for my birthday wasn’t it? ;)

I arrived back home quite shattered. I am still shattered this morning, but no lie in for me today! Need to get to Oxford by midday for a conference. Will try to make the best of it :).

Responses

  1. WEEEEEEEe…u seem to have had a great bday…me too…but not in d mood for blogging at d mom…hpfully 2moro…Fireworks were organised in Malta 4 my bday too :D WEEEEEEE

  2. Hehe – go us and fireworks!

  3. Nafu lil dan Matthew minn Malta?…hihi…xjien kurzitajra :D

  4. I didn’t know him before – he’s Gozitan, teaching German in the education dept aparently

  5. Happy birthday! 24 is an awesome year – i remember looking forward to that year for so long and then savouring every moment. Sorry to say, but 25 was a big shock!

  6. Thanks Emm :). One year to go for the shock then!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

