Posted by: annmucc | August 8, 2008

Palermo…Two Weeks On

So at last I came round to downloading the photos I took in Palermo onto my laptop (about time you would say, huh?). As I already said, it was a great experience, and it made me realise that if you want something if you put your mind to it you can achieve it.

Besides being a summer school/course, and thus learning, in Palermo I also had the time to look around. I was impressed by some of the architecture going on round me – I particularly liked the places with a central courtyard and arches all around (I think they called it Arabo-Sicilian style), such as at the place where we had the opening ceremony, the cloister in Monreale which we visited on the last day, and the Norman palace where the Capella Palatina is located. To me it feels very relaxing, besides also providing a cool place away from the midday sun. It also took me back to what we learnt was the way of designing buildings in Malta in the past, with a central courtyard and the rooms going round this courtyard. Would love to live somewhere like that!

Courtyard of the Location of the Opening Ceremony

Courtyard of the Cloister at Monreale

Courtyard of the Norman Palace, where the Capella Palatina is located

Besides gorgeous courtyards, I was also impressed by the gorgeous decorations in buildings, from the mosaics at Piazza Armerina (Roman casale in the centre of Sicily – great place, long trip!) to the decorations insides the churches at Monreale and the Capella Palatina and the graffiti in the inquisition prison, which we were told they probably had to do due to the fact that the same drawing appeared in numerous cells by the same prisoner (prisoners were changed around for them not to get used to the same place). 

)

The beauty of the Female Form 🙂

The Golden Hues inside this Cathedral

The Golden Hues inside this Cathedral

The Beauty Inside - Capella Palatina

The Beauty Inside - Capella Palatina

Graffiti Inside the Inquisition Prison

Graffiti Inside the Inquisition Prison

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. As soon as I read ‘courtyards’ I thought ” mmm… I knew something about those linked to Malta… mmm…” and then I keep on reading and you spare my thinking! Awesome really 🙂
    But courtyards are lovely, and probably easier to visit than a back garden (there goes lazy me) since many rooms would connect to them.
    But actually I don’t think I’ve ever been to a place with a courtyard… I’ll have to wreck my brains to see if I come up with anything

  2. @best Tolu Twin 🙂 We read each other’s minds 😛 Yeha, I like the feeling of serenity of looking onto a garden, though don’t think I will ever get to live anywhere like that! Thanks for comment and visit 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

