Posted by: annmucc | September 15, 2008

Goodbye Michael…Hello London life

Today was MCA’s last day here in London (I’m sure you’re all saying: ohhhh…. :( ). After waking up quite rested, having had a hectic day yesterday of walking and listening, I had a much deserved rest. MCA was coming over at around 9:30, so I could just lie in (come over you say? yes…I live in an all female residence, where males cannot stay over at all, so he slept at his cousin’s place, and came over in the morning). Before he came, however, I went down to get breakfast. Now, in my residence, we get an £8:30 allowance for food. I was however not sure how much this would give me, so I just had one measley pork sausage to try out the card, and was on my way. Then, I went to the student services to figure out the administrative card, by which time I was expecting MCA to arrive…I wait…and wait…and wait…but it was 10am and he was not here…hmmm…

As I was waiting, another guy from Malta who will be at UCL as well pinged me and asked if we wanted to meet…yeah sure…I made the decision for the both of us…At that time, MCA arrived, so I rushed him off to go meet the other guy.

It was good to have someone show me round UCL. Now I feel like I know more about the place and know where to buy cheap food, and the important places. We got lunch at the refectory, which I must say is quite cheap and very good! So I’m happy :) . By now it was time to return to my residence to pick up MCA’s stuff for him to be on his way to the airport :( . So we said our goodbyes. It was a rush to the residence and then another rush for MCA to get the bus to the airport. It had been nice having him here, seeing the place with me, and us exploring together…but all good things must come to an end, so that was the end of my time with MCA in Germany/Prague/London…and it was a good one I must say!

The original plan before the friend pinged me had been to do a couple of errands, such as figuring out a bank account etc etc, but since I hadn’t done that before, I tried to fit in everything now. SO I rushed to the bank (luckily I had no problems to open a student account there), then on to the post office to post some stuff for MCA (which we had been saying we were going to do for some time), on to check out about some mobile phones, and last and certinaly not least…the public library to register. If you know me you will probably know that I cannot really live without a book to read, so this was possibly the most important thing for my sanity :P . And that worked out fine as well (besides one grumpy librarian who snapped at everyone and anyone, though the others were all very nice).

Back home, it was becoming time for dinner, so I went on down. I got what I thought would be enough, and went to pay…but the dinner lady (not sure what to call her…) told me: you have still around £3 left on your card (you cannot move the day’s money to the next), so it was a scramble to get more…went back, and she said…now you have around 50p left…but by this time I had enough food, and a queue was building up, so I told her to leave it. Anyways, I was quite surprised by how far the card can go: I got a vegetable pastie with potato wedges, a roll of bread, apple crumble and custard, and a bottle of water, which was more than enough!

Back in my room I am exhausted! Have had a hectic 3 days, and can’t wait to rest…but wait! No! tomorrow I have a meeting with my supervisor (my first meeting! at last I see him face to face rather than over a telephone on via email)…so not too much rest.

Off for now though!

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. Still asleep it seems…re read 1st line…same mistake as yest :D:D hihi

  2. Had a great time in London. I will be back for sure ;)

  3. @Cec: arranged now :P
    @MCA: can’t wait ;)

  4. food food food

  5. @Mina: yeah…food is important…without it you die :P

  6. I know I like food too :)
    I think everyone knows that….


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

