Posted by: annmucc | October 10, 2008

And WHO is Complaining Now?

In Malta – there was a huge uproar and panic about it
In London – you barely heard anything about it

And what is ‘IT’ you are probably asking. ‘IT’ is a bus strike…so guess what went on in London today – you are right! A Bus Strike. The bus drivers of some two bus services decided to go on strike today. And guess which bus was affected? Of course! MINE! The one I use every day. So this morning saw me taking the tube to university – all well you are probably saying, but it is also more expensive, and for a poor student like me (‘ohhhh’ I am hearing you echo), any saved money is good money.

Well, the upside to this whole thing is that I discovered that I can also use bus 27 instead of 10, and especially in the evening when I am returning home I think it is actually faster to use this bus, since it doesn’t pass form traffic-blocked Gower Street and Oxford Street.

So I am trying to see the upside here…Hope I can maintain this optimism πŸ™‚

London Bus 9 - I generally get bus 10, but this was the closest I could get (and it does pass next to my residence...)

London Bus 9 - I generally get bus 10, but this was the closest I could get (and it does pass next to my residence...)

Responses

  1. πŸ™‚ All I can say is that

    1. I agree, we maltese are fussy-gussies, but I must say that not all of London’s public transport was grounded to a halt, and they didnb’t block any major roads :p

    2. You sound very “settled down in London” with this blog entry :p prosit Ann πŸ™‚

    “…since it doesn’t pass form traffic-blocked Gower Street and Oxford Street.”

  2. @ John: 1. Well – the buses block the major roads on normal days, so FOR ONCE the roads were quite clear today…maybe they should strike every day then? O: ). I must say though that I am not the most impressed by transport services in London…seen better
    2. haha – well – when you’re a tourist passing through Oxford Street is all ncie and dandy, but when you have to pass through them every day and grit your teeth in ager at the ridicolous amount of time the bus spends waiting at traffic lights, you will not longer be too impressed!

  3. I like those buses πŸ™‚

    I agree with John that you sound very settled now πŸ™‚

  4. @ Wen: Hehe – I do like the buses too πŸ˜€ though they are frustrating sometimes as well, cos it seems like the one I want always takes ages to pass!
    I think I have settled in quite OK. At least I can understand the language easily, so that is a definite plus to easing into the place. Hope living here will remain like this.

  5. […] By annmucc I have already talked about my relationship with public transport in London before: And WHO is complaining now? and London…Three Weeks On. Well, as time has gone by, my love for London transport has not […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

