Posted by: annmucc | October 10, 2008

Volunteering for a Special Collection…

…because I am Special O: )

‘HAHA – yeah right’ I can hear you say. Well, I AM volunteering at the UCL Special Collections. This is the section of the library which contains the rare and old books. As (I think?) I said earlier on, I have volunteered to work there 2hrs every 2 weeks, helping in the cleaning, boxing and what not of these old books. Today was my first 2 hours there, and I was immediately put to work cleaning these old books, which certainly needed a good clean! I was told they haven’t probably been cleaned since they were made, so quite a lot of dust has been picked up over the ages.

Did you know? Dust in books is mainly composed from fibres from clothing, dead skin, and particles from the surrounding environment such as stone – fact brought to you by Mr. Fred Bearman, Preservation Librarian at the UCL Special Collections

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

