Posted by: annmucc | October 11, 2008

Site X – Check!…Site Y – CHECK!

As you may have guessed from the title (or maybe not :S), today was another day of sightseeing around London. A friend of mine, Alex, who is studying in Cranfield not far from London came down to see this city, and of course meet me and two other friends of the family. I also dragged Ruth along, so we were quite a good group.

Since Alex’s friends actually live in London (though have Maltese parents), we left it up to them to decide what sights we should see on Alex’s 5hr stay in London. So they planned a whirlwind tour around the major sights of London. Having met in Covent Garden, we of course started from looking around there, From there it was on to Leicester Square – Picadilly – Regent Street – Bond Street where we got the tube to Waterloo.

Had never been in the area around Waterloo, but I quite liked it. It has a different feeling form the rest of London, especially walking along the bank on a sunny day like today. From there we could see the London Eye (had never been so close before), Tate modern, the Globe theater, over the Millenium Bridge and on to St. Paul’s Cathedral. So all in all I guess I have seen another chunk of London’s sights which I hadn’t seen before. At St. Paul’s we said goodbye to one of Alex’s friends (the other had left when we got the tube earlier on), and we made our way to Trafalgar Square, where Alex and I separated, me to go home and him to catch his bus to his campus.


(Blue is walking; Red is using the underground)

Being a sunny day it was a very good day for sightseeing I guess, cos seeing everything under a bright light makes everything look happier and radiant. It was also good to catch up with Alex, chat a bit with the two London girls, and in general have an easy day out.

Thanks guys šŸ™‚

Responses

  1. weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  2. @ Mina: when are you coming over so I can do this walk with you? Or whoever else is interested šŸ˜›

  3. Sign me up for it šŸ™‚ Looks like quite a lot of walking. I’m looking forward to be shown around by a Londoner (you).

  4. @ MCA: sure šŸ™‚ walking will do us good…we haven’t been to that part yet together, so it would be all right…though I am not sure about calling myself a Londoner šŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

Categories

