Posted by: annmucc | October 12, 2008

My Take on an Enchillada

Today was my turn to cook (remember…Ruth and i take it in turns to cook on a Sunday). When I was last in Prague in September Michael (and I?) had made some enchiladas, so I decided to try my hand at making my own today.

Well, I should have gone shopping for ingredients yesterday or Friday, but of course I hadn’t, so this morning at midday I went over to the Tesco metro close by to buy the ingredients. Of course, I had forgotten to look at the recipe before I left, so I had to get things off the top of my head. So I got:

  • 1 large onion
  • 1 can tinned tomatoes
  • 8 pork sausages (am sure this isn’t the meat you should put in, but anyways :P)
  • some oil
  • 8 tortillas

Back home, Ruth and I threw the clothes into the washing machine and made our way to the kitchen to start cooking.

  1. Fry/Boil the chopped onions
  2. chop the sausages into smaller pieces and throw them into the pan
  3. throw in 3/4 of the tomato sauce
  4. see that it is too little, so throw it all in 🙂
  5. leave the mixture simmering for a while
  6. roll the tortillas…we made 6
  7. had too much sauce (of course I am not capable of calculating), so have a piece of bread with the rest of the sauce, and throw the rest over the rolled tortillas
  8. put on some ‘grated’ cheese
  9. put in the oven (around 200 deg Celsius?) for around 15 mins – take them out after 10 cos you are hungry 😛
  10. EAT!

Although they of course got stuck to the pan we used cos we didn’t oil it, I must say they were quite decent. We are only just starting trying our hand at this kind of thing, so hopefully we get better with time 🙂

Anyways – so far we are still alive…so it musn’t have been all that bad 😀

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. Loving the end of step 9 of the recipe…

    LOOOOOOOOL

  2. @ Cec: glad you feel that way 😀

  3. made me laugh
    thanks 🙂

  4. @ Mina: glad I am useful for something 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

