Posted by: annmucc | October 14, 2008

An Actual Lecture :)

Well, as part of my PhD project, I need to take the equivalent of 2 weeks (5 days) skills development programmes. These could be anything from lectures as we know them, presenting a paper in a conference, or attending a seminar series, to residential weekends, team building activties, and career development programmes.

I had been looking at courses I could take, and in conjunction with my supervisor, I thought that maybe it would be good to take something from the Chemistry department. I emailed the department yesterday, and today I received a reply that I need to contact the course tutors. I emailed them, and one of them replied within minutes: The next lecture is today at 10am!!! (it was around 9:38 by then :P). So off I went – my first chemistry lecture at UCL πŸ˜€

The lecture was on surface science, and is planned for B.Sc Chemistry students in the 3rd and 4th, but PhD students may also attend (and gets points for their skills developement). I must say the lecture wasn’t exactly as I expected. I got a set of notes from the lecturer. The notes had a set of blank spaces. The lecturer had the same notes on her pc and projected onto a board, so during the lecture she wrote on the computer (the writing being projected onto the screen), and we filled in what she was writing. In Malta we were always told that the way we do it, with instant feedback from our lecturers, is not the normal way…but hey! I am in the UK, at UCL – and the lecturer is actually telling me what notes to write (and actually writing everything she says). I was a bit surprised to say the least – but I must say I did understand the lecture very well πŸ˜€

Responses

  1. spoon fed!
    XD sounds like someone is enjoying herself!
    and I’m happy for you!
    πŸ™‚

  2. Big Baby…fill in the balnks notes LOL

  3. @ Mina: hehe – so far so good in general πŸ™‚
    @ Cec: not my choice you know! But I didn’t complain either O: )


Leave a Reply

Categories

