Posted by: annmucc | October 22, 2008

Ljubljana…Here I come :D

In mid-November, I am off again…this time to Ljubljana πŸ˜€ . Just to refresh everyone’s memory (though I am sure you all know!)…Ljubljana is the capital of Slovenia, which held the EU presidency in the beginning of this year.

And why? Well…It will definitely not be a holiday! I will be going there to take part in two workshops to be held as part of the 8th European Conference on Research for Protection, Conservation and Enhancement of Cultural Heritage (CHRESP). I will not be going to the conference, but to the workshops to be held after, specifically the ones on GC-MS Analysis for organic heritage material characterisation on the 13th of November and the Cost D42 (a European Project) NIR/Chemometric for Cultural Heritage workshop on the 14th of November.

My supervisor had encouraged me to apply a while back, which I did, but had been waiting to see if I would receive a bursary to attend the workshops. Today I received confirmation that I got a bursary for travel and accomodation – WOOOHOOOO! That made me a very happy girl. I had hoped to be able to go since these two workshops should be very relevant to what I want to do, so it would be good to learn more about the issues and maybe meet people who I can pick the brains of for different things about my project.

Can’t wait now!

That would mean that from now to the end of the year I would have visited 4 countries: UK, Slovenia, Malta, Denmark…not bad I must say, not bad!

Responses

  1. not bad at all!
    say hi to Ljubljana castle from me if you go there. I remember tramping around it with Lu and parents in the cold april air! And there was snow!tehehe

  2. @ Mina: Apparently my hotel will be just under the castle, so should be able to say hi no problem :P…
    And snow? WOW – don’t guess there will be any now, but will hope to see it anyways πŸ˜‰

  3. Congrats!

  4. @ MCA: Thanks πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

