Posted by: annmucc | October 29, 2008

Impressed!

The past few days I have decided to walk to a bus stop further away from where I work to get in a bit of exercise and also to excape the bottle-neck occurrinng on the part of the route I don’t use the bus on. This means that I get to catch the bus from Oxford Street.

Today, on my way down I remembered that I wanted to buy some bread to be able to have some toast as breakfast. There was a Sainsbury’s on the way, and stopped there to buy the loaf (32p), and paid with my credit card (hehe – here it seems that a card is accepted everywhere and for everything, unlike in dear Malta :)).

I was impressed – the salesgirl actually checked my signature against the one on the card. This had never happened before I am quite sure – THIS is the way it should be done 🙂

Responses

  1. Hello.

    I like your site and wanted to know if you would be interested in exchanging blogroll links.

    Thanks in advance

  2. wow seriously impressive.
    I didn’t even know they should do that!

  3. @ Mina: Of course they should! Otherwise how can they prove that the card is yours?

  4. I was shocked when I saw that nobody checks the signature (not even the name) on your card and compare it with the ID card. Even in my country it is normal practice to do that! And yes, it is annoying that in many shops here cards are not accepted unless you spend over a certain amount.

    In many cases, the machine is not working anyway! Yesterday I wanted to buy my perfume and had to go to the ATM to withdraw…I paid for two frames (posters) and again…had to withdraw! 🙂

  5. @ Wen: It is quite irritating that you always need to carry cash in Malta. Here I think I barely have any cash ever – because the card works just as fine.
    But I must say, even here in the UK, I think this was one of the first times they checked my signature. So not very impressed either for the overall track record. Also, they surely never asked me for my ID card! Just compare to the signature on the card, so if you can forge signatures, it is still quite useless.

  6. @ Aaron: If you want to link your site to mine sure – go ahead! I have no problem with that


Leave a Reply

Categories

