Posted by: annmucc | November 8, 2008

My Achy Breaky Body

Today was another first in the life of Ann in London…

Over the weeks here, I have been finding that I am becoming so unfit and everything, that it is ridiculous – especially since even though I am eating must smaller portion sizes, the oil and cream in the food here just counts for so much more than what I am used to!

A few weeks back I decided to find something to do. So off I went, and emailed baseballsoftballUK asking for softball teams who would be interested in new players…a few days later…I receive an email welcoming me t a new team with details of the winter slowpitch indoor tournament…would I be interested in joining? Sure!

Today early morning saw me making my way to South Kensingotn to catch a bus from there…and on to Brixton Recreational Centre, where the tournament was being held…I arrive…but don’t see anyone from my team there (we should be wearing purple or black t-shirts)…I ask…Oh, the Breakers are always late I am told. OK ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll wait.

Off I went to change then…That’s something else i have to tell you about! Well, as you may have guess, my wardrobe here right now is rather limited, especially in t-shirts, since I wasn’t expecting to be needing too many. Mid-week I receive an email telling us to turn up in purple or black t-shirts…emmmm…I only have red, and an olive green big t-shirt which I sleep in…I emailed back asking if any other colour is OK…reply back – anything but red. Oh well – it will be my pyjama top then I guess :D. And what about trousers? I have black shorts, but no dark long trousers I can play it, and I don’t know how cold it would be…well…that is except my dark blue pyjama bottoms :D…if it is cold, I just might end up playing in my pyjama ๐Ÿ˜€ (my ‘pyjama’ is quite decent actually – just tracksuit bottoms and a t-shirt, so wouldn’t be too bad). Luckily, Janina, the girl I had gone for that long midnight walk with, and with whom I went for a walk yesterday again, offered to lend me a black tshirt. Great!

Back to today. It was great being back to doing something active and playing a bit of softball. Started out quite embarassingly by falling on my ass, since my pyjama bottoms were too long and were getting caught underneath my shoes (after the first game i changed into shorts), but besides that, I think it went fine. There were people of different levels there, so it wasn’t like I was the worst ever from everyone on my team, which was good :D.

While playing I saw this guy which I knew I had seen somewhere before in conjunction with softball, but not sure how and why. I got on base, and I remembered – ‘You came to Malta didn’t you?’ I asked. He said yes (a bit confused) and then – AHHH – I recognise you now! It was Stan, a guy who had come to Malta for a week of coaching us some time back. He also told me that there is a fastpitch indoor winter league going on, if I want to join…I said sure! (In Malta we play fastpitch not slowpitch)…His team is always in need of players it seems, so I will join that I hope…Just need to wait for his email/message to give me exact details. The next fastpitch tournament should be on the 29th November he said, which is good as I will be in London! (The next slowpitch tournaments will be on the 22nd of November, when MCA is visiting, and 6th of December, when I will be in Malta).

It was good to play…but now…oh now!…my body is complaining :). It is very embarassing actually, seeing as it wasn’t all that strenous, but it gives you an indication of how fit I am right now. I could feel my body seizing up when we strated to play, and by the time I got home it was soooo stiff, I could only just go to bed and rest :). My bed right now is also still looking very nice actually :). Good that i have tomorrow to shrug the rustiness all off ๐Ÿ™‚

Another long post I guess…hope you don’t mind too much!

PS – We lost 3 games and won two, so not too bad I guess, especially considering that most of us where new to the team (only three had played indoor slowpitch with this team, and msot had never played)

D

My first team, and probably my first softball game in Malta - The Angels - we won this game, the first ever women

Responses

  1. You forgot the part about how your bf helped you out when you you were lost and couldn’t find your way home ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. @ MCA – sorry (A) – didn’t want to make the post EVEN longer…I am thinking of posting my irritation with the buses and other stuff sometime soon…but yes…you helped me figure out a way of getting home, after I got a bus which only went half-way (for some reason, the buses, although having the same number, don’t always go the whole way!)

  3. Awesome!
    Thats so so cool, not your being unfit, but your actually goign to play! what fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. @ Lulu: Hehe – yeah – it was good fun ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. LOL unfit Ann hihi…well I am currently slightly injured or watever…I can only move my front back and forward but not to the side…or go up stairs sometimes..cos somewhere in the area of my hip hurts…donmt know exactly what it is…hoepfully Il be better soon…Viva Olfen Gel

  6. @ Cec: aww – we are both in pain (A) – though probably your pain is much worse than mine :P, cos mine is already fading away. Enjoy Olfen gel ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. […] My Achy Breaky BodySo off I went, and emailed baseballsoftballUK asking for softball teams who would be interested in new playersโ€ฆa few days laterโ€ฆI receive an email welcoming me ta new team with details of the winter slowpitch indoor tournamentโ€ฆwould I … […]

  8. @ Cec.. don’t buy Olfen gel… Actavis have a cheaper but equally good generic alternative :p xxxxxx

  9. @ Marilyn: using my blog for advertising? iwa iwa…ma kontx naghmlek hekk ๐Ÿ˜›

  10. what fun!
    Stan? but he wasn’t english…

    uff i wanted you oto go and play in your pjs… unfair

  11. @ Mina: No he wasn’t English…he was from New Zealand, working in Denmark, but now he moved to the UK to work for BaseballSoftballUK (If I understood correctly).
    Sorry for disppointing on the pj’s side…but I must say that the pj bottoms I am using I often came to training in in Malta, so you already have seen me in that ๐Ÿ˜› And the top is just an oversived comfy t-shirt ๐Ÿ™‚ So you have come to quite close of seeing me – don’t be too disappointed

  12. Stan is the baseball softball uk development director or something of the sort – he left new zealand yet again!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Tell him to invite us Ann!!!!!!!

  13. @ Renette: I’ll see what I can do ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. […] we Go Again By annmucc Remeber this post? Well, as I had said there, Stan had asked if I was interesting in playing fastpitch softball with […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

