Posted by: annmucc | December 14, 2008

Handball

This year my sister has started playing handball for the Luxol handball women’s team. She started during the summer, but since I was goin abroad I didn’t think it was appropriate to start training. Now however, I could see her in action!

Last Thursday, after the Mdina bastions picnic, I sat in on one of the team’s training sessions. Then yesterday they had a game, so off I went to see and observe! The team were using their new kits (yellow and green shirts; blue shorts – like Brazil football team it seems πŸ™‚ and as always hapens with new kits, finding stuff to complain about them – too small (this time) or too big (other times)…However they all looked good!

The game was against Kavallieri. It started out quite close, with first Luxol leading, then around half-time Kavallieri leading. By this time I started thinking that I wouldn’t see my sister play (as since she is a beginner, the coach would probably not play her if the score is too close). However, in the second half, the team started to get back to the form they started off with, and improved on that. They started scoring, till there was a decent gap, and I saw Cecilia starting to warm up…Oh well – I will get to see her after all!

She played in the wings (it seems that is the position she played in). All in all I must say not the most dismal performance πŸ™‚ She tried to score twice, but never managed (:P). There is room for improvement, but it’s Ok for a few months I guess. Nevertheless, they won the game some 26-18 (I think?)…but anyways, they won! The second game they won this season I was told πŸ™‚

The upshot of going to this game was that I got to see Renette again :D. I hadn’t seen her this time round; I used to play softball with her, and she is always very encouraging in what I did, interested in what I do, and in general a great girl! So it was good to see her again (and of course to see her in action – she started handball after Cecilia, but she’s great at any sports she tries her hand at it seems, and of course handball was no exception!) The good thing was that Renette also got me some photos for my research collection πŸ˜€ (thanks Renette!). In the evening as well, Dorothy G. (the girl with whom we were going to Mdina for cake and coffee earlier this week) came to my house to drop off even more photos for me (some 50 this time, from the 1980s, a decade I had nothing so far πŸ˜€ – thanks Do!)

Well, back to handball…I have only met the girls on the team twice, but I must say they seem like a nice bunch – immediately making me feel welcome :). If I was in Malta I would definitely take up handball with them πŸ˜‰

Responses

  1. illami xi gmiel ta storja ktibt πŸ˜€ wish you could play with us πŸ˜€

    GOOD LUCK Kbira ghal-PHD … may ur wishes come true xxxx

    Tamsyn

  2. you make me want to start a new sport….

  3. @ Tamsyn: hehe πŸ˜› u thanks tal-GL πŸ™‚

    @ Mina: if you do, think seriously about handball πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

Categories

