Posted by: annmucc | December 28, 2008

Christmas in Denmark…The Last Two Days

Well…it seems like after all I wasn’t out of the forest with the illness at all! The past two days have passed in a blur of a lot of sleep, taking pain killers/fever reducers/whatever and taking cough sweets, in the midst of trying to take part in what had been organised.

Yesterday evening was MCAs high school class reunion – they meet every year around Christmas time, and for the past few years this reunion has been held at MCAs parent’s house. So in the morning, after covering the Christmas Log we made the previous day with chocolate and coconut flakes, we picked up some food for the night and the last few items for todays lasagna, and returned home, where I slept again, before starting to get prepared for the evening dinner.

It was 8 of us there – 10 years have passed since their high school years, so the group size at these reunions has been getting smaller…so it was MCA and I, Soren and Helena, two people from MCAs class who are now going out together, Christian, a good friend of MCA, at whose house MCA and I should be spending NYE, and who together with Soren, seemed to have made up MCAs threesome during high school, and two other girls: Libby and Christensia.

The first thing I was surprised about was that the people actually arrived on time! (besides Christian who had advised he would be late). I was surprised as in Malta I would never dream of arriving on the dot at someone’s house for a party or something…I would always arrive at least 15 minutes late I think (or at least try to, since I am generally not very good at arriving late at places :P), because, at least considering when the situation is turned, I am never totally ready on time!

After everyone arrive, we made out way up to the attic, where we dined on good food, from roast beef, remoulade and fried onion sandwiches, to sausages, salads, and what not. For coffee then we got a piece from our Christmas log – mmm – I thought it was delicious, and I think most of them agreed…Mission Christmas Log…Success! πŸ˜‰

Of course, it was not all about the food! It was mainly about the conversation. It was great to hear them talk (even if I didn’t understand everything, since they often reverted to Danish :P)…some of the girls are very good gossipers it seems, so we managed to get all the news in a way which was intersting even for me who didn’t know the people :). But the conversation wasn’t limited to gossip…we touched on a number of topics, from immigration in Malta, to the state of the construction industry in Denmark, to hopefully the organisation of a trip to Prague for Soren and Christian…It was a good time.

Of course, as it was starting to get late, the people made their way home, except for Christian who was staying over. I left MCA and Christian chatting and catching up on old times, while I returned to bed to read a bit and rest…I was starting to get knackered.

This morning, after another late morning, we woke up and had breakfast. Christian and MCA were planning a walk somewhere on a beach or in a forest, but I was too wiped out to join. So I ended up going back to bed, while they went for a ride around Toftlund, MCA’s hometown, reminiscing about old times.

When MCA returned, we then had lunch, and back to bed it was…Don’t say I am being lazy – I really don’t have the energy to do anything unless I am on painkillers! I was trying not to take them this morning, but then I realised that that will only make it worse…so now I have resigned myself to having to take them if I want to participate even slightly in whatever is going on.

Then this evening, MCAs sister and family were coming over. MCA and I had the rule of the kitchen, preparing the food for tonight. So after the midday nap, we started preparing for this evening. On the menu was tuna and salmon carpaccio with mozzarella and pine nuts (similar to what MCA had cooked me for my birthday in Prague – I see I hadn’t blogged about what he had cooked though!), lasagna as the main course, and then Christmas log, konfekt, and other sweets as dessert. It was delicious, if I say so myself!

Now, MCA’s sister and her family have just left, and the rest of us are sitting in the attic, watching tv, while I blog post to keep you all updated (and cos MCA was badgering me about it :P)

Hope you enjoyed this post, and are enjoying hearing about my time in Denmark…do tell if you aren’t, I would gladly stop πŸ˜›

Responses

  1. sounds like a great and outlandish experience… blogging in an attic! and the food sounds amazing as always…

  2. gws darlingest πŸ™‚ i’m in bed at the mo, just went out with my cuzzies, aunts, etc. it was a nice evening. i’m sneezing eh… sneezing all the time!! guess i’m getting the flu as well.. apparently everyone is sick over here. oh well, they should have taken the influenza vaccine πŸ™‚

    seems like you’re having a good time πŸ˜› i’m spending shutdown at home watching desperate housewives and occasionally going out a bit. can’t believe i have to be back to work on friday ufffffffffff 😦

    take care babe xxxxxxxxxx

  3. Hey Mawilyn…at least u have shutdown :P…My shutdown consists of Fri 26th AND (not till) Fri 2nd hehe…imma all is OK till now πŸ˜€

    Cu sn nispera

  4. @ Marilyn: Let’s hope so…so far I have realised that painkiller world is very nice (yeah – that makes me sound like an addict or something, but that’s the only way I can do stuff – when I’m in painkiller world, I feel fine :))
    But staying in bed and watching tv doesn’t sound all that bad πŸ˜›
    I return to London today week 😦

    @ Cec: Haha – enjoy it πŸ˜›

  5. @ Mina: Ohh! I didn’t see your post there! Hehe – the attic is like a big open floor space over the whole house which they use for entertaining, so it is not that outlandish. But I must agree: the food is outlandish, though maybe mum would not be too proud with all the oil being used πŸ˜›

  6. Nice long post πŸ™‚ It’s good to read what we’ve been doing, so keep it up πŸ˜›

  7. @ MCA: haha…it seems like someone needs to be reminded what’s being done πŸ˜›

  8. Does Ann lie and say things that are more interesting than they really happened…so you read the post so that you try and believe that you had more fun than you actually had?…LOL delude yourself :D:D

  9. @ Cec: What did you think I was?

  10. […] arrive at Christian and Louise’s house! I had met Christian last week during MCAs high school reunion, but this was the first time I met Louise, though I had heard quite […]

  11. […] and SΓΈren (below right) (and baby Frederick). We had visited them a few trips back and they had come to Michael’s parents house. It was nice to meet up with them again, particularly as they are both happy to speak English, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

