Posted by: annmucc | January 28, 2009

London Bloggers Meetup

Yesterday was my first London Bloggers meetup (or any kind of Meetup actually). I must say it was good fun.

I thought it would make sense to arrive like t least 15mins late, rather than exactly on time (not sure if people in London follow Maltese time-keeping or Danish time-keeping as yet, so I try to arrive a bit late but not tooo much!). Alas, I was going to arrive early! Have no idea how I do it, but I never manage to arrive late, even if I plan that I have to arrive later (of course, except when I really need to arrive on time, and make every effort to do so)! It is either me, or the times given on the tfl website. Anyways, I get off the bus, and walk to where the pub we were to meet in shoudl have been according to googlemaps and the tfl website…hmmm…there is notheing where it should be…keep on going round and round the area, till I decide to ask.

Ahhh!…said the girl I asked…The Doggett? That’s on the OTHER side of the bridge.

Hmm, I though, the map DEFINITELY said this side (I am quite good at reading maps normally, but oh well). I cross to the other side, and there it is, just where the lady told me! As I am going in I meet another blogger arriving at the same time. And guess what he asks? He asked if I had thought the pub was on the other side! A-HAAAA! It is not MY awful map-reading skills, but that crummy googlemaps which marked it in the wrong place. Oh well, as long as I got there (and it DID allow me to arrive just those few minutes late ;)).

In I go…I don’t know anyone though. Hmm…I know the guy I entered with now (sort of :|). He eneters and sees a guy he knew. I’m introduced, then another lady, Kaitlin, came over. Great! I’m meeting people. The guy I entered with offered me a drink, and being a total non-beer drinker (I just hate the taste!) I opt for a half pint of shandy (THAT I can drink ;)). Drink in hand, I can start talking an mingling.

This was my first time at this sort of thing, and I was quite excited and apprehensive about going there. The people all looked normal from their photos (at least by my standards ๐Ÿ˜› people there laughed at me when I said that the photos looked normal, but I guess they don’t know MY standards :P) [I had joined another group through another website, but never went to their meetings, just cos i was so sure I would be out of place…I could just hear the conversations from the photos…How’s the new car doing? Oh, the BMW? I just changed it now – 5 months, it was getting old…Uhhh – I went to the Bahamas on my daddy’s yacht…so relaxing….look at my Gucci bag…and other stuff in the same vein…NO idea how I could conjure these conversations from the photos, but believe me, I did!)

Well, were was I? Ahh – talking about normal-looking people. And they were actually decent guys (decent/normal i.e. people I can have a good time with, and no indication of average or anything :P). There were people of all ages and most backgrounds, with everyone blogging for different reasons. Some people blogged as part of their work, or live off their blog. However, others, like me, just do it cos they enjoy it, or want to share some knowledge. I haven’t had the time to check out the blogs of the people I met, today having been a very busy day, but I will! S0me of them sounded really great ideas, especially one from a girl who writes puns, and another from a guy who writes about London transport…I really want to check those out!

My verdict? Very much glad I made it to the meetup. Great fun to meet new people (I always enjoy that for some reason), and it gave me something to look forward to…more Bloggers meetups, and maybe other meetups? Will keep you posted!

Responses

  1. YEAH! She enjoyed herself ๐Ÿ˜€

    Hope ur better than me. I have a very bad sore throat a,d some running nose…so 2nijt after work Im off 2d docs cos I don’t want to be sick when Im in London aaaaaaaaaaa hehye

  2. @ Cec: Did you think I wouldn’t? ๐Ÿ˜› Hehe :). And GWS! Don’t want any sick people coming to visit me! (though my throat is starting to niggle me sometimes :-/)

  3. I hate going to those events/meetings where no one seems to know anyone and everyone’s kinda looking around for someone to smile… you get the gist. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am genuinely glad that you went to this meetup and enjoyed yourself. I was a little apprehensive when I joined MeetinPrague and went for the first trip to Vysehrad. But lo and behold, eventually I met your MCA, you and the gang, and life in Prague hasn’t been the same since. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’ll be in London from 18-22 Feb, mostly free after 5 pm. We could meet up if you’re around then. It would be good to catch up.

  4. Dude… googlemaps suck, especially the ones for Malta… of course you can blame the guy/gal who sent you the map or the idiots at google ๐Ÿ™‚ can’t remember the number of times i got lost cos of googlemaps (ok my map reading skills suck but i wasn’t the only one to be mislead by the same map) :p

    less than 2months and i’ll be visiting youuu xxxx

  5. @ Grace: It wasn’t too bad…some of the others new each other, and most knew other people from their blogs.
    Wiii…I should be in London from the 18th to the 22nd, and should be free after 5pm (I generally leave uni at around then)…I’ll surely be up for meeting!

    @ Marilyn: hehe – thanks for the support…my map-reading skills do NOT suck, but I was still mislead ;)…and yes…soon you’ll visit too ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. HAHAHAHA
    ufff I wanted to literally LOL at this but I can’t cause I’m in the school library and people will stare at me / chuck me out.
    sounds like fun…
    hahaha normal people…
    I wonder what they considered you ๐Ÿ˜›
    xx

  7. […] the rush was not just for dinner. There was theย 2nd bloggers meetupย yesterday…it was called Enjoying the Breeze – a reference to Bacardi […]

  8. […] February edition of ‘London Bloggers Meetup‘. It’s been a year now since my first one, but it’s still great to have somewhere once a month to go to, meet up with people, relax, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

