Posted by: annmucc | February 1, 2009

Walk in the Snow :)

Remember my quest to get out and about more in London? Well, today I continued on that quest, by going to another meetup activity, this time organised by the London’s Social Urban Walks Meetup Group, where a walk from Soho to Trafalgar Square (originally) was planned (due to the Chinese New Year festivities, the walk had to change a bit, but that’s Ok :)). And the best thing? Ruth came with me today! Woohoo! So I had a friendly face to start off with πŸ˜€

First off, I don’t know where my normal gloves and my beanie is…luckily I have another pair of gloves, and Ruth lent me a cap (thanks Ruth πŸ˜‰ – I just hope they are at university)…so out into the cold we went, well dressed for the walk (it has been snowing on and off here today! WOOHOOO – my 3rd time seeing snow *GRIN* it’s fantastic :D).

We arrive at the meeting point (just outside my office incidentally). We get there and we see a group of slightly older people…hmm…oh well! We’re here, so might as well check it out for this time at least :). We introduce ourselves to the organiser, and as we are doing that, another guy. Mark, comes over to introduces himself to the organiser, and of course to us. We set off chatting, and that seems to be the start of the walk-long talk between the 3 of us. We chatted about everything an anything…Malta, travel, and food though DID seem to take a good portion of our conversation :P. Also, Mark is an actual Londoner, so it was good to here some of what he had to say.

Though I didn’t mingle as much as I usually do, it was good to just relax and talk, while walking. Also, I really enjoyed the fact that Ruth was there, cos I must say it allowed us 3 to talk throughout the walk with no awkward feelings πŸ™‚ [and we always had something to say :P]. I must say also that possibly this was the most animated I have seen Ruth be around people she didn’t know…you go girl πŸ˜‰

End of the trip? We then walked to a pub kind of thing – the Montagu Pyke. By this time, we were frozen solid! Guess what the bar or whatever served? Yeps! you guessed it…hot chocolate ;). So Ruth, Mark and I (together with a good number of the other walkers) grabbed a hot chocolate and continued talking πŸ™‚ I must also say here that I am impressed by London guys…so far whenever I’ve gone anywhere with a Londoner, or even met a Londoner somewhere ebfore entering a place, they have always paid for my drink! Woweee! That never happened by my friends in Malta πŸ˜›

Now I’m back home, after walking through Picadilly Circus with snow falling πŸ˜‰ Glad to be in the warmth now πŸ˜€

Responses

  1. Yeah, I’ve met quite a few friendly Brits who bought me drinks. It is the gentlemanly thing to do. πŸ™‚

    Congrats on seeing lots of snow! It is quite unusual for there to be so much snow in London, so you’re there at the right time to see it. Enjoy it before it melts!

  2. @ Grace: Hehe – yeps…it just doesn’t seem to have penetrated to other countries though :P.
    YISSS SNOW IS GREAT! Todya no buses or tube is working!!! So I get a dya at home :D:D. Though I hope flights will resume by Wednesday, cos mum and my sister are coming :/

  3. […] Play and No Work, Makes Ann A Snowday πŸ™‚ By annmucc Well, as I said here (and here AND here ) over the last 2 days, London has gotten snow! Actually, the heaviest snowfall […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

