Posted by: annmucc | February 13, 2009

Where in the World is Osama Bin Laden?

I’m not the one looking for him, but someone was (besides many others, including Bush, the US army, etc etc): Morgan Spurlock.

This is the name of the book I have just finished reading, another book form the new book section of the public library. It documents the story of Morgan Spurlock and his travels to make a documentary about ‘Where in the World is Osama bin Laden‘. In it he writes about his travels from the US, to the UK, and then on to the Middle East, visiting places from Egypt, to Israel, Palestine and Jordan, to Afghanistan and Pakistan, and ultimately back to the US, where his wife was soon to give birth to their son.

The book gives an interesting insight into the way people outside of the US view the US and their part on the current world stage, together as to how views of Muslims, Islam, and terrorism change depending on who you are talking to…for some the acts currently going on are terroristic acts, while for others they are the acts for freedom. Even in the same country, views differ, depending on where the person is coming from.

I must say that I do not know much about what is going on in the Middle East, particularly the war in Afghanistan and Iraq…when they started out I was not that interested in world happenings, with only lately me starting to be a bit more interested and following the news. In a way, I find myself entering the debate in the middle, and not really udnerstanding the complete context of the situation. The book helped me understand more about what is going on, even if the style of writing was not always to my preference…the book was written to a certain extent in a light-hearted manner, making it quite good for easy reading. However, I don’t think it was meant to give an in-depth view into the situation in Afghanistan and surroundings between the Middle East and the West. In hindsight maybe I wouldn’t have chosen that style for learning more about the issue (even though that’s what I did :P), but nevertheless it is a good book to make you start to think (if you’re not already thinking!) about the different points of view in this issue, and to hopefully be able to find the different points of view in other arguments arising, not just on a world-stage, but also in the daily life. I think that learning to see the other point of view makes you more tolerant to others…I try to do it, but I am sure I fail miserably most of the time đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Categories

