Posted by: annmucc | February 19, 2009

London Cabs :)

Yesterday was my first ride in a London cab :)

Yeps…those black roundish ones, with the TAXI light on the top :)

Why? No, not because I won the lottery and thought I would waste my money on a cab ride! But for work – my supervisor told me to ;)

Hehe…and no…the department doesn’t expect people to travel by cab everywhere :) It was a necessity ;) And why?

Well, yesterday I started the first hands-on thing in my PhD…it feels great to start DOING something rather than just reading/deciding/discussing. And what was the thing? Well, I started with environmental monitoring at the TNA to determine the presence or otherwise of pollutants in the repositories where photos are stored. The pollution monitors (I had 3) are quite big and hefty, so I cannot manage to carry one, let alone 3 + a pump + the other pieces needed for them to work! And if I cannot carry one alone, let alone all of them on public transport…hence! the cab :)

Arrived at the TNA, and started monitoring?  My supervisor had shown me how to use them once, but I had never really used them, and definitely not on my own! However, happily for me, I managed to get them to a state where nothing was flashing or red in colour! And also all the data that should have been within a range actually WAS within the range. So I was a happy girl. Today the girl who helped me out yesterday also emailed me saying that all looks fine (I need to leave the monitors monitoring for around a week in one place). So, so far so good. I should return on Tuesday to move the monitors around, and to hopefully try ATR-FTIR (a spectroscopic method) for some analysis…will have to try and see if it works…will keep you posted :).

Also in the next weeks I hope to start with some preliminary testing…woohoo!!! Today I started trying to think through the planning of it (since generally it is better to plan everything out and then do it whenever you know how to carry it out than just bumble through stuff, and probably forget things :P). Pray that everything goes well ;)

And today as well? I went to a shoe shop to try and get a shoe box…for…for…for…? Well…the shoe box I was using to house my research colelction was positively bulging, so I decided to try and find a shoe box which was the right size for my research collection…and I did :) Thanks to the lovely people at Fifth Avenue Shoe Repair Shop :) 

Well, and what about the cab ride? It was good to travel by car, after travelling for so long by public transport! However, seeing the fare price rise every few seconds on the meter in front of you gets a bit daunting :) Another thing I noted? That the cab driver kept on putting the cab into free drive…hehe…miss that from my driving :P

London Black Cab

London Black Cab

Responses

  1. Hi Ann!
    I giggled away at your post, as usual, and people thought me abnormal. Other than that I’m really glad you’re doing some hands on stuff in your research finally. And do keep us updated on that, I for one, am interested.
    :)
    Lulu

  2. @ Lulu: I aim to entertain ;)…and I thought abnormal is normal for you :P. Yeah, however, I am glad that I am starting to do stuff…or at least getting closer to that. That means that things start going wrong as well, since everyone can discuss and read :P. So you may hear some rants as well :P I’ll keep you posted though ;)

  3. YEAH the practical work starts…much better than reading…hehe but true…the probs start cropping up now…GOOD LUCK :D…I am working on my thesis…wish you could be here to help me :D…and I there to help you :D hihi ma nkunx wahdi

    bdw Lulu…I think your friends are not too bright :P:P…Cos they should have long cuaght on that you are NOT normal hihi…and shouldn’t be surprised by anything you do hihi


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

