Posted by: annmucc | March 16, 2009

In Sickness…but Where’s Health?

I abandoned you readers over the weekend…but it wasn’t my fault! The evil ‘sickness goblin’ has struck again! It seems to me that I spend most weekends and even holidays (remember Christmas?) sick! Probably it is just my mind playing games with me πŸ˜› but I do find that during the week I consider getting sick as not an option I can resort to so I keep on going, but as soon as the weekend is here and I relax slightly, I immediately fall ill. So far it has generally not been anything too serious…just a bit of coughing or sore throat (read about one of the instances here). But this weekend it certainly hit hard!Β 

Saturday evening I was feeling cooped up in my room and was starting to get restless, so decided to do something with myself and go out and go to mass. However, half-way through the service, I had to option:

1. stay there and risk fainting/throwing up there: not sure how much the others would appreciate that πŸ˜‰

2. leave asap

I took option (2) :). The cold air outside seemed to get me back to a more normal state. so after a bit of a wander round, I went back to my room. In my room however after a while I started getting dizzy again, and soon my face was enjoying the view down the toilet bowl…not a pretty sight πŸ˜› Yesterday then (after viewing the toilet bowl a number of other times πŸ˜‰ ) I spent in bed, not having the energy to get out of it, especially during the morning…even to see e-mails I had to read them paragraph by paragraph and get back to bed! It was not a pretty sight! The worse was however being scared of going to go have a shower!!!! AAAA!!!! I was running a bit of a fever I think, and was starting to get the itch to wash the fever away, but was too scared of locking myself in the shower…was sure I would faint in there! So far whenever I felt that bad there was always someone around that could check on me, but this time there wasn’t really! Ruth had also been sick during the weekend, so didn’t want to bother her too much. Anyways, during the evening I managed to rest enough to feel I was better, and of course first on my list was getting a shower…mmm! It felt good then, having been waiting for it for a few hours πŸ™‚

Today I woke up quite well, and decided to make my way to university as normal (if anything, I had to go to the lab to do some work on the preliminary studies, and the doctor’s clinic is next to University!). After lunch, coffee and a trip to the lab with Linda (one of the new research assistants) however, my neck started to feel quite stiff, so after all these different symptoms I decided to be off to the doctor’s clinic.

I arrive…WOW! There were 30 people waiting (I counted ;)). I have never been there when there were so many! Luckily there were 4 doctors on duty, rather than 1 or 2 there normally where when I went, so it wasn’t toooo bad (I still had to wait for over an hour to be called, but at least I was). The funny thing I realised too was that, while last time I went everyone had the same cough as I did (which I found amusing), it seemed like this time whatever was hitting people was a ‘silent microbe’ cos no one was coughing, sneezing or anything πŸ™‚

This time I also got a different doctor from the other two times. Usually I got asked: ‘What do you think you have?’ and ‘What do you want me to give you?’. This time however I wasn’t :). I liked the previous doctor too, but I felt I got a more rigorous check-up from today’s doctor…she checked my blood pressure and temperature (with a cool thing which measures temperature from my ear!) and deemed those in very normal state, then checked some other stuff, ruled out it wasn’t meningitis (she checked this because of my stiff neck), and then told me I had a viral infection and need to let it run. Oh well…hopefully tomorrow I will be better than today, and Wednesday better than tomorrow πŸ™‚

Wish me luck!

Β 

Sickness Goblin? His Immune System is not Good Enough though it seems :P

Sickness Goblin? His Immune System is not Good Enough though it seems πŸ˜›

Responses

  1. Aww poor girl. That’s not the way a weekend should be spent. I’m glad you are feeling better now.

  2. @ Michael: That’s DEFINITELY not a way to spend a weekend…but oh well…it’s passed πŸ™‚

  3. Get Well Soon! I hope you’re feeling better

  4. I’m sorry your weekend was spent recovering from this vicious bug instead of having fun. Hope you are feeling much better now.

  5. @ Krystle/Grace: Thanks for your wishes. Luckily I am feeling much better now πŸ™‚ At least I didn’t have much planned for last weekend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

