Posted by: annmucc | June 2, 2009

Ciao Pisa, Hello London

I know I have neglected this blog over the past few days. But believe me I didn’t have much time…what with trying to finish my work, people visiting me, and me making the most of Italy, it was a very hectic time.

What do I think of my time in Pisa?

I think it was great…I am sure I have said this before, but I will say it again and again…the place is great, the food is great, the people are great…everything was great. I also enjoyed the work (which was, needless to say, a great thing ;)). There I felt like I was back home…same style of living…I felt part of something, part of a community of people, not just another person in a big city swaying with the wind with nothing to hold her.

What about m flight back?

Well…that was a bit of an adventure to say the least! I had checked luggage, so I went to check that in, but as the check-in attendant finished with my main luggage she asked me if I had hand luggage to weigh it…UHHHH! Bad choice! I knew my hand luggage would be overweight! And it was…I was 5kg overweight for that (travelling RyanAir…you probably know the strict rules). Anyways, I was not up for paying for this extra weight (as a checked-in luggage), which would have been over the moon expensive. So what did I do? I told her…ok let me see what I will remove, and I proceeded to put on most of the clothes I had in my hand luggage, which amounted to around 4-5kg of clothes ;). This meant I put on 4 pairs of trousers, 4 pairs of socks, and around10 tops/shirts. I must have looked RIDICULOUS…but who cares? I didn’t know anyone¬†;) (I hope!). I managed to get my luggage down to around 10.6kg, then roped it a guy in the check-in queue to hold some stuff for me till we get away from the check-in desk, and the attendant let me through with being a bit overweight…WOOHOOO! I passed through security like this :) By this time however I was sweating bucket loads, so I immediately proceeded to the toilet to remove all the layers and repack everything. The same attendant was then at the boarding gate! But luckily she didn’t say anything about the fact that I had removed the clothes, so it was fine :)

Now in London?

Well, I have now moved to a new residence which is owned by UCL. SO far it seems OK. It is arranged in the form of apartments, with 5 people living in my apartment. I have only met one girl so far, since yesterday I just dumped everything in the room, and ran off to university to organise some things about the residence (I had been told I had to move again after 2 weeks here, but now I can stay in this residence, though have to move room…hopefully I will get Adrian’s room…the other Maltese guy, who is leaving on Friday and has quite a big room ;)). After that I met up with my supervisor, went through the 100 e-mails I had received since Thursday (yes…it was exactly 100!!!) and then was off to my old residence to pick up the stuff i had left there in Ruth’s room. Luckily she helped me move it, so after another lugging marathon of luggage, I had everything in one place. I decided that we should go out for something, and contacted Adrian…he was just going to go out to meet another Maltese girl, Marlene, so we made it into a foursome :). It was a great evening! Back home Adrian showed me around the residence for things I should know where they are (like this computer lab ;)…haven’t organised Internet in my room yet). By this time I was totally dead…so in to bed and on to sleep I went :)

Responses

  1. I thought you’d be in Pisa for a little longer. I fully understand how you feel about Italy though. I am already looking for air tickets to Rome later this year.. hehehee….

    Hope your accommodation in London gets sorted out soon. Good luck!

  2. @ Grace: I was only there for one month…too short, I agree! and Rome? I always wanted to go there! ;)
    About accomodation here, I have been guaranteed a place, I just need to move to another room in the same residence some time in the next two weeks. That’s OK :)

  3. Glad you made it back to London without paying overprice. :) I’m waiting to see a photo of you wearing all you clothes tho, will you post?

  4. @ Michael: Hehe…I will when I download my photos… :)

  5. how very typically you

  6. @ Mina: What is typical me? O:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

