Posted by: annmucc | July 1, 2009

Chasing Pandora

I left you with this post, saying I was going to go see Chasing Pandora. I went…but what did I think?

This was the first time I heard Chasing Pandora live, though I had heard some of their songs on the radio. However, I am not too up-to-date with their music (or make that with any kind of music right now! Haven’t heard any radio or seen much TV for ages now, so the little knowledge I had has slid further down the knowledge scale!)

I met up with some of my Maltese friends here in London. I hadn’t seen most of them in ages, so it was good fun to get out of the house, and speak some Maltese πŸ™‚ (and meet some new people). However, being around Maltese people again I have realised one thing…being around Maltese people is TIRING! Being around Maltese people often means non-stop banter…but this means that your mind needs to be continuously switched on to be able to give smart replies fast…after 9 months living here this part of my brain seems to be slowing down, making me exhausted by the end of the night :).

But enough about that…what about the music? I liked their music and their style. I was aware of what they do, so I was expecting it, and it certainly wasn’t disappointing. I particularly liked their song Time, and the way the singer introduced the song about the dragonfly…She said that she wanted to write a song about a dragonfly sincemost people consider it to be a bad omen, or something similar, and she felt bad for the poor thing…that’s so cute πŸ™‚

What I did not like however was the venue. The venue consisted of a very small stage in the back of a pub with limited space for the people. However, that was not the most irritating thing! That was the number of beams crossing across the room, which meant that e.g. from where I was the guitarist/singer was obscured with these beams! I had been to hear Teitur sing at the monto Water Rats, where they were going to sing today (but had other things to do, which I hope to write about soon), so I was thinking something more along the lines of that, which is slightly bigger and nicer. But hey…at least I enjyoed the music πŸ™‚ And, although being tiring, it was good fun to meet up with the Maltese crowd and some peopleΒ  haven’t seen in ages πŸ™‚

Responses

  1. I can’t believe Ann has problems with conversation… I thought you never stop talking πŸ˜›
    It’s great that you could get to cheer on a Maltese band in London! I only know a couple of their songs as a matter of fact. But they seem cool πŸ™‚
    When will you be in Malta?

  2. Never in the near future probably…bdw Ann…Christa (or sthg of the sort) from ADI said hi…cos I went to spinning 2day and she came up to me and shes like are you Ann or do you have a twin sister called Ann i don’t think you’re Ann cos she would have talked to me, but i think she had a twin sister am i right…(all in 1 breath)…and I said…well yes I’m her twin…she asked wot ur sdoing etc etc…and she said hi insomma

  3. @ Luisa: It’s not the conversation which is the problem…but my brain seems to be slowing down πŸ˜‰ It WAS nice to see a Maltese band πŸ˜€
    No idea when I will be in Malta 😦

    @ Cec: I think I know who Christa (Falzon I think for some reason) is. Hehe…from the description it should be her (quite sure her name is Christa)…say hi to her if you see her again πŸ™‚

  4. hi there,

    saw ur blog a while ago. I’m glad you enjoyed our show…

    if you wish to see us again, we’ll be in London for our album Launch at a better and bigger and more intimate venue called the Roundhouse…..11th February, doors open 7pm. Fraser Gregory – who is also half maltese and grew up in Malta….will be opening the show.

    Not to be missed πŸ™‚

    Take care

    Mel x

    • Oh great! Thanks for letting me know. Does the show start at 7 or just doors opening? As I have an event till 7pm but I will try and make it if so!


Leave a Reply

Categories

