Posted by: annmucc | July 2, 2009

I’m a Geeky Techie ;)

Or so I feel right now πŸ™‚ Why?

Well, last Thursday my old hard disk (R.I.P) decided to breathe its last breath and die sometime durng the night. This meant that I had to figure out a way of figuring out what to do.

Step 1: Buy a new Hard disk. On Friday when I went in to uni Phil was there, and he suggested me a website (dabs.com) from where to buy my CD. I looked the options up, and send a selection to my brother. Unfortunately, my brother was travelling, so it was only on Sunday that I ordered the hard-disk, and it was shipped Monday night. It said it will take 1-3 days (and possibly more) to arrive, but luckily the packet arrived on Tuesday πŸ˜€

Step 2: Recovery media. Unfortunately I had my recovery media in Malta (of course :P). Luckily however Steph, a good friend of mine, was coming up to London on Wednesday, so my sister dropped off the CDs with her. Yesterday evening then I met up with Steph for a crepe in South Kensington…It was sooooo good to catch up! She was in my class in sixth form, and we had been to Egypt together, but haven’t seen her since I moved here. Seeing her was great as always…and she got me my recovery media

Step 3: Change harddisk.. Michael found a youtube video showing exactly how to change the harddisk on my laptop…it took me less than 10mins I am sure to change it…I impressed my brother with my speed it seems πŸ˜‰ and I only dropped one screw!!! (that’s an achievement for me :P). Β First part of installation…a breeze!

Step 4: Install OS. I put in CD…and it started perfectly…everything running sooo smoothly…but I should have known that couldn’t last! at 90% expansion of files, the installation stopped and I got an error…buuuh! Tried to reinstall again, but kept on getting (new!!!) errors.

Step 5: Figure out where to get an OS…i.e. panic message on Facebook. Luckily, a Maltese guy here pulled through, and he was nice enough to meet up with me tonight (even though I had never met him before!!!) to give me a copy!

Step 6: Try new installation…after a bit of fiddling to get pc to restart from CD…everything went smoothly! I am now typing this from my own laptop! I am so proud of myself *GRIN*

I deserve a pat on the back πŸ˜‰ Don’t you think so?

My Friends...Fellow Geeky Techies πŸ˜€

Responses

  1. BRAVAAAAAAAAA

  2. I’m impressed – well done πŸ˜‰

  3. *pat on the back* πŸ˜€ xx

  4. @ Marilyn: Thanks! I was expecting that…but the others didn’t give me the pat 😦 At LAST! It arrived πŸ˜€

  5. […] Computer Problems…AGAIN! By annmucc Remember this and this? […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

