Posted by: annmucc | July 29, 2009

Congratulations Due

My sister drew my attention to this article.

It tells about Prof. Joseph N. Grima, a professor in the Chemistry Department at the University of Malta who is working on auxetic materials. In a simple way auxetic materials are materials which grow fatter when stretched and narrower when compressed (unlike most materials, such as e.g., a rubber band)

But why was I compelled to write about this this? Well, Prof Grima was a professor of mine for the 4 years of my undergraduate degree. However, he was more than just another professor to me. He encouraged me in what I was doing, particularly while I was doing my dissertation, and was also the one who encouraged me to continue my studies and helped me out with advice. Even now, whenever I needed some reference or something he was always keen to help. Just wanted to take the time out to say thank you for his help, and congrats for the research going on in his research group. Keep up the good work!

You can read more about their research here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

