Posted by: annmucc | September 3, 2009

The New Place

I have now been in the new place close to a week. Different type of housing, different location, different issues. But what do I think of all this so far?

This is the first ‘apartment’ I have lived in which I am contributing to (house in Malta does not count, it being my mother’s ;)). It feels sort of grown up progressing from my parent’s home, to a catered accommodation, on to a self-catered residence, and now in an apartment…WOW! I have lived in an apartment before when I was on an internship in Germany, but it was always in student housing blocks. Now however I am living with working people…ain’t I becoming the adult? LOL! (Hope that some ‘maturity’ rubs off on me…issa naraw!).

Another issue is location. I have always lived north of the river and to the West, and this has been no different. However, I have never lived THIS far north or this far west. It is a totally new area. So ar I have lived in three different areas…from the very posh Kensington, to the central busy Gray’s Inn Road area, and now in calmer, leafier and slightly ethnic Willesden Green. Moving to a new place means that you need to figure out the area again…something which I am quite hopeless at (though Michael seems to enjoy it, so I’m looking forward to doing that with him :P).

So far what has really caught my eye in the area is the park. It is around 5 minutes away from our place, and is gorgeous if I say so myself! Quite big, well landscaped, and well-kept, with loads of things to do in the place…from tennis courts, to football and rugby fields, to a small pond, a rose garden, children’s playgrounds and a cafe :). What more could we want? (hmm…maybe good weather so we can enjoy it? ;)). A downside to the area is maybe the daily commute…it takes me around 1hr10mins every day to get in, which is not to bad (considering that I just get one bus with a 10min walk at either end…probably could be faster, but would mean using the horrible tube system, changing loads of time rather than using one bus, and being more expensive ;)). Oh well…It’s not the worse 🙂

So what now? Now I need to prepare the place for when Michael gets here in a week and a half! WOW! Time passed by soooo fast. I cannot believe it has arrived. Now I wait to see Michael’s verdict…hope he’s not too disappointed by my choice, considering this was my first time choosing somewhere!

Responses

  1. No need to worry about growing up too quick 😛 I’m sure your living quarters are not the defining element of how old you feel.

    I’m looking forward to seeing the new place and I’m sure you’ve made a good pick 🙂

  2. @ Michael: 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

