Posted by: annmucc | September 15, 2009

Shepherds, Blue Cheese and Arrivals :)

Yes, this will be another food-related blog O:), BUT I had a reason to celebrate today and to try and push my normal efforts (better than potato sandwiches anyone?

The celebration? Michael has moved to London :D. It has been on the books of course for quite a while and most things sorted. However, it still feels surreal to me…right now I feel like he is just visiting (as usual)…but I guess I will start realising when I go to the room and see all his stuff unpacked (I was banished from helping him ;)).

So what did I prepare for the first dinner of our life in London? I had originally thought of organising a picnic, so I discussed some options with my lovely foodie friend Dorothy G. She gave me a recipe for a blue cheese dip which I tried my hand at. It turned out a bit too rich and overpowering, but oh well…it was my first try with ingredients I have never used (used to Maltese cream and wanted Bechamel sauce but could not find it at the supermarket). Add to that some water biscuits, and we had our appetizer so that we had something to pick at when we returned from me picking him up.

Blue Cheese Dip

Blue Cheese

Fresh Cream

Walnuts

Honey (Maltese ideally ;))

The ‘main course’ was a shepherd’s pie (or cottage pie…not sure! I used minced beef :)). I was watching one of these food programmes on tv and wanted to try my hand at it to give him a true English welcome :)). I had everything prepared before he arrived so that when we came back we only had to put the dish together ad put in the oven. Here is how to do it:

Sauce

2 Onions

1 big carrot

some tomato puree

half a yellow pepper

1 tin chopped tomatoes

some rosemary and thyme

some Worchester sauce

Mashed Potatoes

Potatoes (Go Guess :P)

Fresh cream

grated cheese

Instructions: Cook all the sauce ingredients in a pan :). Ideally add some red wine I guess, but I didn’t think to buy any this morning O:).

Boil the potatoes and mash with some fresh cream and add some grated cheese

Put the sauce mixture at the bottom of the dish and then layer the mashed potatoes on top, adding some grated cheese on top of the mashed potatoes. Cook in the oven for around 20ย minutes at 180 deg Cel.

And voila! you have a shepherd’s pie ๐Ÿ™‚


Responses

  1. mela by request: marilyn’s veeeeery easy blue cheese dip

    Ingredients:
    1 box of Philadelphia cheese (plain)
    200g blue cheese
    Some mayonnaise

    Method:
    Blend together the Philadelphia cheese and slices of blue cheese. Taste the mixture every now and then and keep on adding blue cheese until the blue cheese taste is strong enough. Add some mayonnaise to increase creaminess. Add more blue cheese if required. Et voilร ! Dip reaaaaaaaaadyyy ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. @ Marilyn: Merci beaucoup ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Whats for desert?? “:P

  4. hehe yeah it can get strong if u add too much honey and blue cheese ๐Ÿ™‚ ghal darbohra … but sounds like the shepherds pie turned out yummy

  5. It was great! What a welcome ๐Ÿ™‚ …and for desert, nothing (it’s raining in London). Dessert was some small apple pies.

  6. Haha Michael…you are spending to much time with Ann :@:@

  7. @ Dor: I found the taste of the cream a bit overwhelming…Shepherd’s pie was yummy…and best of all there were left-overs for me to get to lunch ๐Ÿ˜€

    @ Michael/Cec: yeps…apple pies…even if I forgot about them for lunch O:)

    @ Cec: haha ๐Ÿ˜› Actually he wrote desert and I corrected him and he said: so why did she write it with one s? So it was me ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. hehe well british fresh cream is nothing like the Benna one iktar ilma milli cream ๐Ÿ˜€ plus i think i used bechamela. But as marilyn noted, with cream cheese it should be yummy too ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. @ Dor: hehe…couldn’t find bechamela in the supermarket!

  10. try the Tesco lemon cheese cake for dessert… yummy ta veru!!

    • Hehe…will do some day ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

