Posted by: annmucc | September 19, 2009

Classical Extravaganza, Pubs and Couchsurfing

Yesterday was a night of all 3. Ahhh! and Michael of course πŸ˜€

On Tuesday as I was waiting at home to go pick up Michael I received an e-mail that free tickets for the Classical Extravaganza being held as part of the Tower of London Festival were available. When I asked Michael he was then up for it so we decided to go. A few days ago then on the couchsurfing London group I came across a post from DiamondInLondon saying that him and a friend had tickets as well and if anyone was going too. I got Michael on the task of replying and organising and yesterday saw us meeting up at the pub before the concert.

I have been telling Michael I want to take him to a pub for the last 2 weeks or so…I want to show him the pub culture, and what pub food is all about (mmm). Yesterday was the opportunity ;). DiamondInLondon suggested a pub just across from the Tower and that is where we met :). I had heard of the Wetherspoon chain of pubs before I moved here but have not had the opportunity to go in. I wasn’t disappointed by what I saw…decent food and decent prices (for less than Β£6 we got a meal and a drink!). I think I would go again :). The conversation was also decent…it was Michael, Diamond, his friend JohnC, and two other girls Veronica and Gundhild who came later (also couchsurfers).

Following the pub it was then off to the concert :D. The place wasn’t too full (hence the free tickets, and I am sure a good number of the people there were there with free tickets as well!), but that was OK…the seats just about fit you but the chairs were so close together that if a whole row was full I am sure we would have ended up sitting on each other’s lap! It was good though as well as we could get all warm πŸ˜› (it was an open-air festival).

We sat down and the music started. I enjoyed it if I say so myself :). It was good music, in a great location (the ditch around the Tower) with people (YES! people…in London! I am doing stuff with people!!! not alone :P). It was an overall good time (luckily Michael got blankets with him even though I had pooh-poohed the idea πŸ˜› isn’t he the thoughtful one? :P).

In particular I was surprised by the singer ;). The one of the billing was sick so we had a replacement. Her singing was good but OMG! Her facial expressions??? She was SCAAAAA-ry :). However, then she sung Summertime from Porgy and Bess (Gershwin), and she won me over :). So I’ll shut up about her expressions O:).

The most fun was however the last song :D…Offenbach’s Can Can…we were all clapping along and being happy (and probably trying to get some circulation back and getting warm ;)). It however sent us off home with a smile on our face and a sweet taste in our mouths :). Good night!

Now I am looking forward to tonight’s and tomorrow’s concert…but will tell you more about those later πŸ˜‰

Responses

  1. Great night! I’m looking forward to having more of this πŸ˜‰

  2. Lucky you…hope theres something similar when Im in London

  3. @ Michael: πŸ™‚
    @ Cec: We’ll see πŸ™‚

  4. […] Rantings from Afar A Girl from Little-Fish Malta in Big-Fish London…What am I up to? « Classical Extravaganza, Pubs and Couchsurfing […]

  5. […] at around 4:30 and ending at around 10pm. It was also muchΒ more relaxed…unlike for the Classical Extravaganza concert, seating was removed from the flat part of the venue and covered with sheeting, producing a […]

  6. […] Hero at The Scoop? Sure I said! We arranged to meet at the pub we went with the couchsurfers last weekend, and night plans were […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

