Posted by: annmucc | February 1, 2010

Making Carrot Bread

For some reason this week I mentioned that we should try to make carrot bread. Unfrotunately most days this week it was Michael who cooked, so Saturday saw me cooking food and making the bread! It was my first time baking anything, so I was a bit apprehensive. Luckily it turned out OK :), though I think it is a bit too oily (and fattening! I opted for carrot bread not cake to hopefully make it healthier, but to me it seems just as fattening!). Anyways, I thought I’d share the recipe with you all 🙂

I found the basic recipe here but as Michael does not like nuts I left them out:

Carrot Bread

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cups cooking oil
  • 1 egg (slightly beaten)
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup nuts
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup carrots (grated fine)

Directions:

Cream the sugar and cooking oil in a medium bowl. Mix. Add the egg.

In a smaller bowl, put the flour and soda. Stir the nuts in. This will coat them and keep them from rising up to the top of the bread. Then, add the cinnamon and salt.

Add the vanilla and stir.

Fold (or lightly stir) in the carrots.

Pour the batter into a lightly greased bread loaf pan. Bake at 325 degrees F for 1 1/2 hour or until lightly brown and a toothpick comes out clean

Pour the dry ingredients in with the sugar mixture.


Responses

  1. […] Saturday I made carrot bread. I was surprised at how easy it is to make, and it really doesn’t take a long time! In around […]

    • My carrot bread looks and smells good but the center middle caved in….What happened ???

      • Hmm – I wouldn’t have any idea! It came out quite well for me. I’m sorry, but I’m not an expert here…just starting to bake!


Leave a Reply

Categories

