Posted by: annmucc | April 29, 2010

Museum of Curiosity

Museum of Curiosity is a BBC Radio 4 ‘Panel show in which three distinguished guests donate fascinating exhibits to a vast imaginary museum’. Seeing the title I was quite interested in the show, so when Michael and I managed to get tickets for a recording last Tuesday I immediately took advantage of that.

The recording, as for the William and Greg pilot we went to see a few weeks back, was at the Drill Hall. As we knew that the waiting room gets quite stuffy with the people crowding into it, we went to get our ticket before going off to the lab to collect some materials from there for the next day and carry it to the office (with Michael’s help). It turned out that it was a very good idea that we had collected our tickets beforehand, as apparently they had to turn away quite a bit of people! (the BBC issues more tickets than there are places since a proportion of the people do not turn up, and this is clearly explained on the tickets)

Drill Hall

We entered the (stuffy) bar cum waiting area, but due to our quite good timing, we were soon in and sitting down smack bang in the middle of the second row – Michael was happy! While waiting I chatted with the couple sitting next to us, but recording was soon set to start!

The show consisted of the show host, the curator of the ‘Museum of Curiosity‘, and the three panelists. These were an explorer who has explored a lot of Africa and the rainforest, particularly Borneo it seemed, a comedienne, andΒ Daniel Tammet. As soon as I saw him I immediately recognised him (which is why he is the only one I could find the name for) – I had read his memoir, Born on a Blue Day, last year! After the introductions, the recording mainly proceeded with discussions about the lives of the panelists. At the end the three panelists presented who they would donate as a member of the museum staff: a man from Borneo by the explorer, surgeons including Humphrey Davis from the comedienne, and a Nobel Prize for literature winner by Daniel Tammet. Soon, the show was over! There just needed to be some retakes, and off we went (after more than 2 hours – wow!)

What did I think? Well, I must admit it wasn’t what I really expected. I thought that the discussion would more centre around what the panelists would offer to the museum and why and how, and maybe even a discussion as to which ones should go in and which ones shouldn’t, and why. I hoped for a more entertaining discussion from that point of view, rather than about their lives. but then I guess – not many people have my interests…and seeing as I have never heard the show – maybe they should stick with what seems to be working for their audience!

Responses

  1. The explorer was Robin Hanbury-Tenison πŸ™‚

  2. thanks…oh Michael πŸ™‚

  3. And Ronni Ancona was the comedienne.

  4. Oh WOW – you’re good πŸ˜‰ How did you figure that out?

  5. I found a mention of the book she kept referring to. And Robin I found through his involvement in Survival International.

  6. Ahh – bright guy πŸ˜‰

  7. You 2 should meet, you would have some interesting conversation, I guess! πŸ˜‰
    My contribution: “explored a lot of Africa and the rainforest, particularly Borneo…”
    What were your marks in geography?

  8. I would definitely not say no to that ;).
    Hmm – No idea what my grades where in geography though – similar as the rest of my grades I guess!


Leave a Reply

Categories

