Posted by: annmucc | May 21, 2010

Philharmonia Orchestra at the Royal Festival Hall

First visit to the Royal Festival Hall – another great concert!

Following a walk down to the Southbank in the gorgeous weather that is gracing us right now, we collected the tickets for the concert by the Philharmonia Orchestra, which was happening yesterday. The orchestra was being conducted by Kirill Karabits.

The first piece of music we heard was Bernstein’s overture from Candide. I really liked the fun and light musicality it has. Definitely an excellent start to the programme!

Next up it was Barber’s Violin Concerto, with Gil Shaham as violin soloist. What did I think? Well, I must admit a bit of a bias against solo instruments – probably a hang up from my time playing a number of instruments where I loved playing with others but just loathed playing on my own. Probably for this reason, I much preferred the other pieces.

The highlight of the evening however was definitely Prokofiev‘s Romeo and Juliet! I particularly liked the first movement…any one recognise the theme? 😉 I was so excited when I heard it! Just brilliant!

I also liked a later movement:

All in all a very successful evening! Great weather, and great concert – really put a smile on my face 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

