Posted by: annmucc | July 5, 2010

Making Use of Pears and Apples

We had a couple of apples and pears in the house which were close to going off before we managed to eat them off. I have been trying to think what to do with them, and came up with what I hope is a good idea.

As Michael is coming back this evening I thought it would be nice of me to try to do something nice, so I decided to put together the two things and bake some pear and apple bread. I followed a recipe I found online, with the exception of substituting some of the sugar with honey. Also, I chopped the pears and apples, and now I realise I didn’t peel them either…and I didn’t have any baking powder…but it looks good anyways.

For easiness’ sake, here is the recipe:

Ingredients

    3 cups all-purpose flour
    1/4 tsp baking powder
    1 tsp baking soda
    1 tsp salt
    1 tbs ground cinnamon
    3/4 cup vegetable oil
    3 eggs
    1 cup sugar
    1 cup peeled shredded pears
    1 cup peeled shredded apples
    2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

In a large bowl mix first five ingredients. In a smaller bowl mix remaining ingredients. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until moistened. Divide into 2 greased and floured 9×5 loaf pans. Bake at 325F (160 deg C) for 1 hour and 15 minutes.
Makes 32 slices.

Apple and Pear Bread


Responses

  1. It was delicious, thanks😀

  2. Glad my efforts were not in vain😀

  3. I want some!😦

    BDW Michael…hope u enjoyed the surprise you got yest😀

  4. I gave you the recipe…you can make it yourself😉. It takes less than 30-45mins to prepare, so should be quick enough!

  5. Oh my. I bet your house smelled wonderful when you made this!!

  6. It did smell nice! Though only I was there to smell it😦.

  7. That sure looks delicious!
    Wonderful idea😀
    Cheers from South Sinai🙂

    • Thanks Nicole
      Hope South Sinai is treating you well! I had visited Sinai some years ago and really liked the experience!

      • Thanks – it’s alright.
        We will be on the move again soon, after 10 months over here.
        As usual: one smiling and one crying eye😉

  8. […] Pear Banana Bread Cake Following the relative success of the apple and pear bread some weeks ago, and still being on a bit of a high (and having some of the ingredients left over) I […]

  9. […] bread/cake by mushing up the two recipes I have used recently to hopefully get the moistness of the first and the spiciness of the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

