Posted by: annmucc | July 17, 2010

Spiced Pear Banana Bread Cake

Following the relative success of the apple and pear bread some weeks ago, and still being on a bit of a high (and having some of the ingredients left over) I decided that this weekend, while Michael worked  (we had other plans which had to be placed aside for other reasons), I would bake some more bread…or make that cake! Michael has commented that me calling it bread does not make him appreciate it as a treat so much…so I will call it cake from now on🙂 (after all I am sure it has enough sugar and sweet stuff to qualify as a cake!)

As the title of the post makes clear, today it was the turn of spiced pear banana bread cake. I found a recipe online and followed it as best I could (considering my normal ineptness at following any recipe :P). I followed it quite decently, besides using I think half the butter (I doubled the recipe for an event tomorrow…but more about that later…and forgot to double the butter (A)), and replacing the brown sugar with honey (which should be acceptable). Haven’t figured out any other omissions as yet. Hope it turns out well!

And in case you are interested? Here is the recipe!

This recipe makes a deliciously moist banana bread. The pears add a really nice flavor to this spiced banana bread recipe. For best results use soft pears!

PREP TIME: 20 Min
COOK TIME: 1 Hr 20 Min
READY IN: 1 Hr 40 Min
SERVINGS: 12

INGREDIENTS
* 2 cups plain flour – 250g
* 1 teaspoon baking soda
* 1 teaspoon cinnamon
* 1/2 teaspoon ginger
* 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
* 2 mashed bananas
* 2 mashed pears (peeled or use canned pears)
* 1/2 cup white sugar – 100g
* 1/2 cup brown sugar
* 1/2 cup butter or margarine – 113g
* 1/4 cup plain or vanilla yogurt = 60mL
* 2 eggs
* 1 teaspoon vanilla

DIRECTIONS
1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Grease a loaf pan and coat with flour to prevent sticking.
2. In a medium mixing bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg.
3. In another mixing bowl, cream together the white sugar, brown sugar and butter.
4. Mash the pears and bananas together really well in another bowl.
5. Stir the pear and banana into the sugar and butter mixture and add in the eggs and vanilla, stirring well. Then stir in the yoghurt, again mixing well.
6. Slowly pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture, stirring constantly. Mix really throughly until everything is perfectly blended together.
7. Spoon the mixture into your prepared loaf pan. You can place a few slices of banana on top and sprinkle with a little brown sugar for decoration if you like.
8. Place the loaf pan in the center of preheated oven and bake on 350F for 1 hour 20 minutes. Cooking times may vary, especially in fan assisted ovens, so check the loaf is done by inserting a toothpick or knife into the middle of the loaf. If it comes out clean the loaf is ready.
9. Allow the banana bread to cool in the loaf pan for about 10-20 minutes. The cooling is important because the loaf will solidify fully as it cools.


Responses

  1. NomNom – cake!

  2. If calling my baking cakes rather than breads I’m glad I did the change😛

  3. […] area, but I did get some time to go see the Big Lunch area. The food was really delicious (even my spiced pear and banana bread was eaten!). My favourite was probably an onion tortilla sort of thing, a baked cheesecake […]

  4. […] Anyways, I can’t wait to start cooking from it…especially after my recent baking enthusiasm…I am in fact making some banana and pear bread/cake by mushing up the two recipes I have used recently to hopefully get the moistness of the first and the spiciness of the second. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

