Posted by: annmucc | July 23, 2010

Cooking with the Moomins

I had never heard about the Moomins until I met Michael. Apparently they are well-known children cartoon characters in Scandinavian countries. In Malta? I am sure no one has heard about them!

However, when Scandinavian Kitchen organised a competition to win a Moomin Cookbook I didn’t want to be left out. So I researched the answer, and sent it off. Yesterday I received an e-mail from Bronte, one of the owners of Scandinavian Kitchen…I had won the book! Weee🙂.

I went to pick it up today. However, it wasn’t only the book I picked up. I also bought some Spunk for Michael. Unfortunately I didn’t have enough cash! But the lovely guy at the counter let me have it anyways…Thanks whoever it was! That was really nice! And not just because of that! It was nice to be able to have a chat with someone in a shop in this country! However, I suspect that should I have gone in there with too grumpy a mood all the smiles in there might have driven me crazy! (or maybe converted me to the normal smiley me?).

Anyways, I can’t wait to start cooking from it…especially after my recent baking enthusiasm…I am in fact making some banana and pear bread/cake by mushing up the two recipes I have used recently to hopefully get the moistness of the first and the spiciness of the second.

MMMM! It smells gorgeous!


Responses

  1. I had heard of them🙂
    they’re so cute

  2. Ok OK Mina – Maybe I should have written ‘I am sure that most people haven’t heard of them’🙂

  3. yes that’s what you should have written😛


Leave a Reply

Categories

