Posted by: annmucc | September 9, 2010

A Day Trip to Malmo

Sunday was the last day of our visit to Denmark. From there Michael was flying on to Prague via Malmo (Sweden) and I was flying back to London from Copenhagen. As I had never been to Sweden yet we decided to use this time we had together for a short visit to Malmo.


Having had a lazy morning we said our goodbyes to Mikkel, Michael’s friend who we were staying with and in the afternoon made the trip across the Sound. There we left our luggage at the train station and set off to explore the city.

Malmo is not a very large city. As Michael said, it can be considered to be a provincial town, with the benefits of having very good links to a city such as Copenhagen. Also, being so close to Denmark it looked quite Danish to me.

We spent the few hours we had walking around the city, going from Stortorget, to Lilla Torg, then on to the King’s Gardens and the Castle Gardens. We also walked towards the ‘Turning Torso’ building, though didn’t make it to it.

This day was also special as it was our third year anniversary. Yes! We’ve been together so long! We ‘celebrated’ by grabbing a meal at a steak house and then some cake and coffee in Lilla Torg, enjoying the view of people.

Soon – too soon – however time for Michael to catch a bus to the airport was approaching, so we returned to collect our luggage, I saw him to the bus, and we were then both off – Adieu Denmark…for now!


Responses

  1. […] posted about my family visiting southern Jutland, and also about Michael and me spending the day in Malmo the day after they left. However, I haven’t mentioned the time in between: 3 days in […]

  2. […] also gave me a year access for the scheme for my birthday so since returning to London from my holiday I  have started cycling half-way in to uni and back out every day (I do the rest of the trip on […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

