Posted by: annmucc | February 18, 2011

Jessie Buckley at Greenwich Theatre

I had no idea who Jessie Buckley (sorry Jessie!) was until a few weeks ago. However, my boyfriend bought tickets to her Valentine’s Day show at Greenwich Theatre as a treat. So learn about her I did!

Jessie Buckley shot to fame when participating in the BBC show I’d Do Anything in 2008. She was one of the finalists to get the part of Nancy in Oliver.  At the time I wasn’t in the UK , which is why I didn’t know about the show (and Jessie). Unfortunately she lost out to Jodie Prenger in the end.

The Valentine’s Day show consisted of Jessie, a pianist (Joe Thompson) and a double bassist (cannot remember his name) playing mainly jazz ‘songs about love and songs [Jessie] love[s]’. As I was quite new to her, I had no idea what to expect. However, once she opened her mouth to sing, I was thrilled and impressed! She is one good singer with the charm that makes you want to listen to her. I didn’t know all the songs they played, but enjoyed every single one of them.

Jessie wasn’t the only star of the show for me though! The pianist was a delight as well – both his musical abilities and his (again) charm and warmth. The connection between Jessie and him was definitely there and gave so much to make the evening a memorable one.

You might be asking…but what about the bassist? Well, as you can suspect from me not remembering his name I wasn’t as impressed by him as by the other two. He stayed in the background quite a bit and seemed wrapped up in his own cocoon most of the time. Jessie also didn’t seem to have as good a connection to him as with the pianist. The connection to me seemed more one of her being impressed by his ability rather than a personal connection. Unlike her though I wasn’t that impressed unfortunately. I found his playing sometimes did not do much to improve the collective sound but was more a show of skill. His solos were also often quite long and did not contribute much to the evening I felt. But then…what do I know about bassists? Or even jazz! So I’m open to learning and being corrected here!

In spite of this (to me) slight negative, the night was really enjoyable. We haven’t been to listen to much jazz here in London (as normally we go to whatever we can get rather than to necessarily to something we want). It was a great way though to spend Valentine’s day.

Thank you Michael – and I love you🙂


Responses

  1. Glad you enjoyed it – I did too😉 Love you!

  2. OOOOHHHHH…the love birds

  3. @ Cecilia: pff😛


Leave a Reply

Categories

