Posted by: annmucc | March 26, 2011

LAMDA at the Tricycle Theatre

The Tricycle is a small independent theatre/cinema complex in Kilburn. Though it is less than a 30min walk from our place, and it has been on our radar for months, we hadn’t actually made it there for a show…until yesterday!

Over the past week, the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art (LAMDA) have been holding their final year shows at the Tricycle. We looked at shows and our availabilities and managed to get tickets for ‘A Woman of No Importance‘ by Oscar Wilde.

Now, I hope you will excuse my ignorance, but I have never read or seen any of Oscar Wilde’s work. This meant that I approached the performance with no expectations whatsoever.

The result? A brilliant performance! I have now read some criticism that this is not the best of Oscar Wilde’s work, but I wouldn’t have known it from what I saw yesterday! The actors were utterly amazing! Now, I am not normally the biggest fan of theatre productions. They generally feel dragging to me. But certainly not this one!

Seeing this (what I expect to be) just emerging actors and actresses on the stage made me feel that maybe, I shouldn’t keep theatre productions on the fringe of my interests, but rather maybe I should just see more, understand what I like more, research performances before we go, and then go from there.

So thanks guys for igniting an interest in theatre for me. In fact, I am now trying to get tickets for Touched on Tuesday. And this time, it is not Michael dragging me there, but me dragging him! Can’t wait🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

