Posted by: annmucc | July 22, 2010

Over the Edge?

Just before Christmas Michael and I went to see a Boy Blue Entertainment show: Pied Piper. We really enjoyed the show so when the company returned for a two-week residency at the Barbican, we couldn’t miss going to see them again (of course we need to thank FreeB again!)

Yesterday we went to the opening night of their new show Over the Edge. We have tried watching contemporary dance shows but we don’t seem to get much out of them, but following our last experience with hip-hop we had high hopes for this show.

As last time I definitely wasn’t disappointed! I like the freedom as well as tightness of this dance form; the dancers seem to be exactly in synch where needed but at other times they were allowed to show their personal styles and quirks, which is always good to observe (at the right place of course!). If I had to make one complaint about the dancing it would be that there wasn’t enough of it…I wanted the 70 minutes to last so much longer!

Such shows are not just about the dancing though. There is also the narrative which is being expressed. I must admit I am notoriously bad at getting any kind of narrative out of dance (I have problems following the plots in films! let alone dancing!). However, I think I do agree with the review in the Evening Standard. After all I only got the plot after reading that review (so they went one better than me in figuring out the narrative!).

Besides the show they also provided a sort-of magazine, which besides some details on the dancers and the programme, also had an interview with the two brains behind the company. You can see the interview below:

Overall though? I still really enjoyed it! Hope to see more from this company soon!


Responses

  1. Nice review. I agree about the pace of it. Felt like I was in there for half an hour despite it being 70 minutes!

  2. […] Hip-Hop…(and More Christabelle) A few weeks ago we went to a hip-hop show, and this weekend was the turn of another […]

  3. […] Over the Edge? – Rantings from Afar As last time I definitely wasn’t disappointed! I like the freedom as well as tightness of this dance form; the dancers seem to be exactly in synch where needed but at other times they were allowed to show their personal styles and quirks, which is always good to observe… Read review […]


Leave a comment

Categories